24 May 2019

Top four teams to compete for Women's crown in Great Britain

The International Federation of American Football (IFAF) today confirmed the schedule of the Women’s European Championship 2019, which will be staged between 11 and 18 August in Leeds, United Kingdom.

The Championship features the four top-ranked European nations as they compete for the European title and qualification to the 2021 World Championship. 

Reigning champions Finland will open the tournament at John Charles Centre for Sport on 12 August when they will take on Austria, while Great Britain will launch their title challenge later that evening as they take on Sweden

Wednesday 14 August will see the next slate of fixtures as Finland take on Nordic rivals Sweden and Great Britain play Austria. The tournament will climax on Saturday 17 August as Austria play Sweden and Great Britain take on Finland in a re-run of the 2015 Championship game.

IFAF President Richard MacLean said: “It’s always an exciting moment ahead of any of our championships to announce the schedule. 

MacLean continued “These four teams will provide the fans in the UK and those travelling to the event from around Europe some great football. It should make for a fantastic tournament.”

Fixture List:
Monday 12th August: Finland v Austria and Great Britain v Sweden
Wednesday 14th August: Finland v Sweden and Great Britain v Austria
Saturday 17th August: Austria v Sweden and Great Britain v Finland

More details on game times and ways to watch will be published shortly.


World Championship

World Championship

2023 World Championship - Australia